CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Daphnis Rev 134 Raw Preview

These raw, unprocessed images of Saturn's moon Daphnis were taken on July 5, 2010. Captured at distances of less than 75,000 kilometers (47,000 miles), these are closest images yet of this moon in the A ring's Keeler Gap.

Jul 6, 2010: Daphnis "Rev 134" Raw Preview #1 - This image was taken on July 05, 2010 and received on Earth July 06, 2010.
Jul 6, 2010: Daphnis "Rev 134" Raw Preview #2 - This image was taken on July 05, 2010 and received on Earth July 06, 2010.
Alliance Member Comments
Mercury_3488 (Jul 17, 2010 at 7:35 AM):
carolyn (CICLOPS) (Jul 12, 2010 at 7:03 PM):
MarkG: That would be wonderful if it did, because we predicted it should. See Porco et al, Science, 2007 at: http://www.ciclops.org/sci/papers.php
MarkG (Jul 12, 2010 at 5:37 PM):
I'm suspicious that Daphnis has an accretionary "skirt" like some of the other ring moonlets, but the picture is ambiguous.
Mercury_3488 (Jul 7, 2010 at 3:07 PM):
Thanks enceladus5 & greece for your responses. :)

Another thing I have seen with my own enlargements of Daphnis is that Daphnis appears to have a 'large' crater, approx 2 KM wide on a 9 KM long body. Wonder if this shows that Daphnis is an icy rubble pile held together by gravity (a more solid body would shatter)???

Main Belt Asteroid 253 Mathilde has been seen to have huge deep craters & Hyperion too has deep craters & both objects have been found to have very low densities.

Reminder the ESA Rosetta Spacecraft encounters the large Main Belt Asteroid 21 Lutetia on Saturday afternoon (UTC).

Andrew Brown.
greece (Jul 7, 2010 at 10:53 AM):
To see Daphnis as other than just a dot is really a big achievment. With this images we can etimate its shape and the most important: we have a high resolution image of Daphnis and its waves
enceladus5 (Jul 6, 2010 at 4:26 PM):
Very nice detailed images of the waves and Daphnis.Andrew is right, it is nice to see Daphnis other than an undistinguishable point of light.Awesome!!!
Mercury_3488 (Jul 6, 2010 at 12:43 PM):
Love these, we get to see the shape of Daphnis at long last :) Like the high res views of the rippling, but to see Daphnis as other than just a dot is really something.

Andrew Brown.

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!