CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Prometheus and Dione Rev 125 Flyby Raw Preview

These raw, unprocessed images of Saturn's moons Prometheus and Dione were taken on Jan. 27, 2010. Cassini passed within approximately 33,000 kilometers (21,000 miles) of Prometheus and within about 45,000 kilometers (28,000 miles) of Dione. The Prometheus encounter represented the closest imaging sequence yet of that moon for Cassini.

Jan 28, 2010: Prometheus "Rev 125" Flyby Raw Preview - This raw, unprocessed image of Prometheus was taken by Cassini on Jan. 27, 2010.
Jan 28, 2010: Dione "Rev 125" Flyby Raw Preview - This raw, unprocessed image of Dione was taken by Cassini on Jan. 27, 2010.
Alliance Member Comments
billclawson (Feb 1, 2010 at 3:06 PM):
Ahh, So I read an answer elsewhere about the 'stars' in the shadow -- From what I gather, cosmic ray hits to the CCD and/or shiny bits of the F-ring.
billclawson (Feb 1, 2010 at 12:49 PM):
OK, so I have to ask.. In the APOD image, it looked like there were 'stars' in the shadow of Prometheus. What is the explanation for the bright specs? Ring particles in the foreground? Pixels on their way out in the camera?
ultomatt (Jan 29, 2010 at 12:01 PM):
The image of Prometheus is stunning! The lighting looks especially this the result of ring shadow? I hope that Cassini lasts long enough to really focus on the small moons. Titan is an amazing moon, but each of the moons has a profound story to tell, and after dozens of Titan encounters, how bout shifting the focus onto the lesser moons? For instance, the crater Herschel on Mimas has yet to be imaged at high resolution. The high res sequence of Mimas was of the opposite hemisphere.

I know it's a matter of fuel and trajectory, and the orbits have pretty much designed to optimize viewing at Titan, but isn't it time to shift the focus to some of the other moons? With limited resources, and the inevitable end of the mission looming, I find it kind of frustrating seeing these amazing shots of the lesser moons, and realizing that these are secondary and tertiary objects relative to the mission's primary goal, which was to draw back the curtains on Titan. That's been achieved...more of the little moons, PLEASE!

And, don't get me wrong...this is one of THE greatest space missions in the history of spaceflight. Kudos for many jobs well done!
tish (Jan 29, 2010 at 7:33 AM):
Prometheus- my first impression is UFO! Space Ravioli is close- so is that an illusion or does the center bulge? Carolyn, keep em comin' we love this stuff!
infocat13 (Jan 28, 2010 at 1:08 PM):
Prometheus appears to have striations that look much like Phobos's
Knossos (Jan 28, 2010 at 1:04 PM):
Look beyond the creaters and look at the terrain on Dione, there's movement there! Fishers, cracks of the land. Magma maybe, Ice flows maybe. but the terrain is moving at right angles to each others. But the pictures are breath taking. I just love this stuff...
Iceman (Jan 28, 2010 at 12:54 PM):
space ravioli?
hondacivic21218 (Jan 28, 2010 at 12:40 PM):
At first glance, other than orbiting Saturn, it looks like all they have in common is craters. Hondacivic21218

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!