CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus Rev 120 Flyby Raw Preview

These raw, unprocessed images were taken during Cassini's close flyby of Enceladus on Nov. 2, 2009. The most recent Enceladus maps also are included here.

Nov 2, 2009: Enceladus "Rev 120" Flyby Raw Preview #4 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 2, 2009.
Nov 2, 2009: Enceladus "Rev 120" Flyby Raw Preview #3 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 1, 2009.
Nov 2, 2009: Enceladus "Rev 120" Flyby Raw Preview #2 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 1, 2009.
Nov 2, 2009: Enceladus "Rev 120" Flyby Raw Preview #1 - This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 1, 2009.

Oct 30, 2009: Map of Enceladus - October 2009 - This mosaic shows an updated global map of Saturn's icy moon Enceladus, created using images taken during Cassini spacecraft flybys. The map incorporates new images taken in 2008, with better image processing techniques.
Oct 30, 2009: Enceladus Polar Maps - October 2009 - The northern and southern hemispheres of Enceladus are seen in these polar stereographic maps, mosaicked from the best-available Cassini and Voyager clear-filter images.
Alliance Member Comments
HenryBrooks (Nov 20, 2009 at 5:48 PM):
carolyn: thanks I will keep that in mind for the future.
carolyn (CICLOPS) (Nov 20, 2009 at 4:30 PM):
HenryBrooks: I believe you're asking about the degree and scale of the porosity: ie, big holes in somewhat densely packed material or lots and lots of little holes spread throughout. And the answer is that we don't know that level of detail. We just know that given a body's size, and what we know of its mass and its composition, if the density seems too low for its composition, it means it must be porous. Hope this helps. (In the future, you should post such a comment under a Phoebe or Hyperion image.)
HenryBrooks (Nov 20, 2009 at 2:57 PM):
Hi, I'm new here so my question may have been answered previously. I was looking at some of the published papers and was wondering this: when a small body such as Phoebe or Hyperion is said to be "porus", does that mean in practical terms that beneath the surface there could be something similar to caves? Or is this more in the geological sense of a glacier moving thru rock? I hope I am making sense here. Thanks in advance for the patience.
carolyn (CICLOPS) (Nov 7, 2009 at 9:05 AM):
hank: No more images to be released from this pass. You've seen the best. We're saving ourselves for the Nov 21 flyby. Cheers!
hank (Nov 6, 2009 at 3:49 PM):
Ciclops folks -- can you tell us if there are more images yet to be released, or if this is the set and we'll only see these cleaned up later on?

I don't know what the plans for this pass were, whether these were the goal, or whether you are able to swivel the camera as it passes the target, etc.
ddOps (Nov 3, 2009 at 5:51 PM):
The "view up ahead before flying through that plume" is stunning. - Dave
bassplyr98 (Nov 3, 2009 at 11:24 AM):
What a birthday present, amazing pictures and more to come :) Thank you!

PS, we're taking you up on the soundtrack thing if you're interested ;)
stowaway (Nov 3, 2009 at 9:54 AM):
Yay Imaging Team! Good job.
mic1303 (Nov 3, 2009 at 6:34 AM):
The raw images are in one word, Fabulous. I can't wait to see the processed data.
Red_dragon (Nov 3, 2009 at 3:50 AM):
Well done!. Congratulations for this new succesful Enceladus flyby!. Raw images look great and as always surely there will be surprises hidden in the data collected and sent by Cassini.

It's a pity those cool ad graphics that illustrated each flyby aren't no more released on Cassini's website. Anyway, keep up the good work!.
Knossos (Nov 2, 2009 at 12:59 PM):
The map of Enceladus is absolutely breath taken, the flows are awesume. I do have a question... what are the bubble looking formation out on the right side of the picture? The cracks look big... can you give us a approx. distance from the surface on this flyby?

Thanks again CICLOPS team for making these pictures available to us all. Keep up the good work!

Knossos

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!