CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Helene 'Rev 144' Raw Preview #1
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Helene 'Rev 144' Raw Preview #1
Avg Rating: 8.85/10

Full Size 1024:
JPEG 17 KB
  This raw, unprocessed image of Helene was taken on January 31, 2011 and received on Earth February 1, 2011. The camera was pointing toward Helene, and the image was taken using the P0 and UV3 filters. The image has not been validated or calibrated. A validated/calibrated image will be archived with the Planetary Data System in 2012.

The Cassini Solstice Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Solstice Mission visit http://ciclops.org, http://www.nasa.gov/cassini and http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov.

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: February 1, 2011
Image/Caption Information


Alliance Member Comments
NeKto (Mar 2, 2011 at 12:47 PM):
Mass concentrations is an interesting hypothesis. Any way to test any of this? i had not thought of unequal mass distributions as a posible cause of the "flow lines" (but i had thought perhaps they might be fingerprints of the "person" who made this snow ball. rather big hands. anything match in the FBI database?) i do see the resemblance to hair growth.
if the flow lines are ice from Enceladus, what colected that ice into lines? the most likely force i can think of is gravety.
Peace
Aleksei
Mercury_3488 (Feb 28, 2011 at 4:06 PM):
Hi NeKto

I have not been here for a while. That is true, perhaps the flow lines could also indicate mass concentrations within Helene.

I also understood that the flow lines could also be from ice swept up from the geysers on Enceladus. The Tethys tojan moons Telesto & Calypso are also largely covered in fine ice & Calypso too shows hints of flowlines. Would be interesting to get a close up of Polydeuces if possible too, the other Dione trojan moon, the one that trails Dione. Polydeuces is only about 3.5 KM wide at most, so Helene is very much larger.

Andrew Brown.
NeKto (Feb 17, 2011 at 10:06 AM):
Andrew, at first glance i thought the flow lines were all pointing to the low spots. not radiating out but flowing down. i find such fetures fascinating on non hydrodynamicly stable objects. they might tell us something about what happens as mass of non stable objects increases during acretion.
tish (Feb 2, 2011 at 11:12 AM):
I agree with Andrew, what an unusual feature on Helene. Looks like something hit her recently.
-Tish
Mercury_3488 (Feb 1, 2011 at 4:35 PM):
Wow interesting views of Helene :) The curious flow like features seen from a far northern viewpoint are interesting, they appear to radiate from a point like hair growth from a crown on someones head!!!!

Andrew Brown.

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!