CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus 'Rev 141' Raw Preview #2
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Enceladus 'Rev 141' Raw Preview #2
Avg Rating: 9.64/10

Full Size 1024:
JPEG 32 KB
  This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken on November 30, 2010 and received on Earth December 1, 2010. The camera was pointing toward Enceladus at approximately 64623 kilometers away, and the image was taken using the CL1 and CL2 filters. The image has not been validated or calibrated. A validated/calibrated image will be archived with the Planetary Data System in 2011.

The Cassini Solstice Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Solstice Mission visit http://ciclops.org, http://www.nasa.gov/cassini and http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov.

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: November 30, 2010
Image/Caption Information


Alliance Member Comments
Red_dragon (Dec 18, 2010 at 6:40 AM):
I find difficult that being a chunk of ice or a meteorite; if you look it closely it has a kind of tail and, assuming the object has left that tail, it does not seem as if it was coming from Enceladus.

In my opinion it's just another cosmic ray hit.
NeKto (Dec 9, 2010 at 11:52 AM):
John, i would say your hypothesis is possible. Large chunk of ice is more likely than an earthly atmospheric phenomonon.
i don't see enough in the image to tell me what the object in question is, but i will say it does not look like any artifact i have seen in previous images, processed or not. It sure looks like something is there.
jsc248 (Dec 8, 2010 at 6:02 AM):
I have to admit that I look forward to every image of Enceladus that is released from CASSINI. This one is a magnificent image of the geysers. I would question the meteorite statement though. To have a meteorite like that you would need an appreciable atmosphere which Enceladus does not possess. I would be more inclined to believe that this is a large chunk of ice being expelled from one of the stripes. Anyone agree?
John.
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Dec 5, 2010 at 4:29 PM):
( My rating was '12'. )
kwgm (Dec 3, 2010 at 9:26 AM):
At 10 O'clock (up and left) from the Enceladus eruptions appears to be a small meteorite.

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!