CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus "Rev 131" Flyby Raw Preview #7
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Enceladus "Rev 131" Flyby Raw Preview #7
Avg Rating: 9.29/10

Full Size 1024x1024:
JPEG 22 KB
  This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on May 18, 2010.

The image was taken in visible light with the Cassini spacecraft narrow-angle camera on May 18, 2010. The view was acquired at a distance of approximately 17,000 kilometers (11,000 miles) from Enceladus and at a Sun-Enceladus-spacecraft, or phase, angle of 156 degrees. Image scale is 100 meters (329 feet) per pixel.

The Cassini Equinox Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Equinox Mission visit http://ciclops.org, http://www.nasa.gov/cassini and http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov.

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: May 18, 2010
Image/Caption Information


Alliance Member Comments
enceladus5 (Jun 6, 2010 at 10:30 AM):
Fantastic shots of Enceladus'geysers.It is no wonder you won the Carl Sagan Award.Thus far the Cassini mission has been worth every penny.Thanks for delivering us these wonderful images.
carolyn (CICLOPS) (Jun 5, 2010 at 6:17 PM):
Everyone: Thank you SO much for your congratulations and lovely thoughts on the Sagan Award. I am happy and moved beyond words. It is quite an honor and means the world to me...both the award and your warm wishes. Love to all of you!
Red_dragon (Jun 1, 2010 at 6:55 AM):
Congratulations on winning the Carl Sagan award!. You deserved it.

AWESOME image.
Lee (May 31, 2010 at 10:41 AM):
P.S.: THANKS!
tish (May 31, 2010 at 8:06 AM):
Hey Congratulations, Carolyn! Ann D had some nice words for you. We love you , too.
Hey when are we going to see some new ISS movieclips?
Love the Moons in motion.
Celebrating "Saturnalia" here at Kopernik,
_Tish Bresee
iwanttogotothere (May 30, 2010 at 7:11 AM):
I think we're seeing the shadow of the moon cast on the plumes. AMAZING!
Lee (May 28, 2010 at 2:40 PM):
I'm with stowaway: Wow!

Congratulations for winning the Carl Sagan Award too.
stowaway (May 23, 2010 at 3:36 PM):
I have to admit I am a little confused about exactly what I am seeing in this image. Maybe the viewing geometry could be explained a little. Where is the terminator, the limb, the horizon, the Sun? The black portion at the bottom almost appears to be a separate object with the surface of Enceladus receding above it.
mipsandbips (May 19, 2010 at 9:16 PM):
A close encounter? These images are incredible!
stowaway (May 19, 2010 at 7:34 PM):
Imaging Team! You have done it again! Wow! Wow! Wow!

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!