CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Mimas "Rev 126" Flyby Raw Preview #1
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Mimas "Rev 126" Flyby Raw Preview #1
Avg Rating: 9.23/10

Full Size 1024x1024:
  This raw, unprocessed image of Mimas was taken by Cassini on Feb. 13, 2010.

The image was taken in visible green light with the Cassini spacecraft narrow-angle camera on Feb. 13, 2010. The view was obtained at a distance of approximately 70,000 kilometers (43,000 miles) from Mimas. Image scale is 418 meters (1,372 feet) per pixel.

The Cassini Equinox Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Equinox Mission visit, and

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: February 15, 2010
Image/Caption Information

Alliance Member Comments
enceladus5 (Feb 26, 2010 at 4:33 PM):
"Thats's no moon, its a space station!!!!"
carolyn (CICLOPS) (Feb 26, 2010 at 3:51 PM):
Wayworld: We just released some of the best images, and the result from one of the other Cassini scientific instruments, here:
Wayworld (Feb 26, 2010 at 8:44 AM):
The images are wonderful, thank you so much. As good as it is to see images like this, it is difficult to discover details with the resolutions posted on the web. A tower standing over 2000 feet tall would be only one pixel!
"Image scale is 418 meters (1,372 feet) per pixel"

Small wonder the terrain looks relatively flat!

Are these the best images scientists have to work with (are they keeping the best pictures for themselves)?

ultomatt (Feb 16, 2010 at 8:41 PM):
re: billclawson - I think the lack or ray features is more a measure of the low gravity of Mimas, than anything else. Most ejecta from craters would likely leave Mimas forever...and thus, a very low rate of secondary craters. Probably not non-existent, but very few would make sense to me. And thus, Mimas has very randomly arrayed cratering pretty much at saturation. New craters can't occur without wiping away older craters and crater features.

All just my opinion of course ;)
billclawson (Feb 16, 2010 at 12:54 PM):
Surprised there aren't any crater rays or other geographic distortions from the big crater impact. Must've happened a very long time ago.
billclawson (Feb 16, 2010 at 12:50 PM):
Cassini came perilously close to being pulled in by their tractor beam! Brilliant picture though.
marko (Feb 16, 2010 at 4:11 AM):

If this image was taken in visible green light, can I take it that Red & blue filters were also used so that we may see this staggering scene in colour?

bkeefe (Feb 15, 2010 at 9:36 PM):
I have been waiting for these pictures for many years. Once again your team gives us beautiful views of our system that have never been seen by Mankind before. Thank you!
Red_dragon (Feb 15, 2010 at 5:35 PM):
Simply put, impressive. Words fail to describe images as this one.
BobbyD (Feb 15, 2010 at 3:34 PM):
Very Coool!!...looks like a 'giant' golf ball!! (yeah, I know, you've heard that a million times!!!!) :)
Ed Rolko (Feb 15, 2010 at 1:00 PM):
Oh that is sooooo slick! This image rocks!

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!