CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus "Rev 121" Flyby Raw Preview #7
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Enceladus "Rev 121" Flyby Raw Preview #7
Avg Rating: 9.45/10

Full Size 1024x1024:
JPEG 188 KB
  This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 21, 2009.

The image was taken in visible light with the Cassini spacecraft narrow-angle camera on Nov. 21, 2009. The view was acquired at a distance of approximately 3,000 kilometers (2,000 miles) from Enceladus and at a high Sun-Enceladus-spacecraft, or phase, angle. Image scale is approximately 15 meters (50 feet) per pixel.

The Cassini Equinox Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Equinox Mission visit http://ciclops.org, http://www.nasa.gov/cassini and http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov.

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: November 21, 2009
Image/Caption Information


Alliance Member Comments
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 22, 2009 at 11:44 PM):
( My rating was '11'. )
rochelimit (Nov 22, 2009 at 4:59 AM):
I try to understand this image by observing it upside down lol, it's a very alien landscape indeed..
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 21, 2009 at 8:05 PM):
It's still far too early to decide for sure what kind of landscape is on N00146728. I suppose ranges at the left, not 'surely there they are'.
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 21, 2009 at 7:59 PM):
I don't mean by 'mountain ranges' the more common features I've seen on the 30 or so of the raw images, when those were very new. I mean a kind of surface looking very complicated that I found on only a few of the 30 or so raw images. ( None of these has been posted here up to now because I suppose it's hard to look at them ( is this a valley or a mountain range ? ) and the flyby happened very recently. I needed a lot of time understanding them and perhaps some few terrain features I interpreted wrong. None of these was hi-res. )
On one of them, N00146728, there is this new kind of very complicated surface. Especially on the lower half and between the 8 and 9 o'clock position. There are a lot of valleys and at the very left also ( hill ) ranges between the valleys. I think they are of common origin.

( Now there are many more raw images of this flyby. )
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 21, 2009 at 4:03 PM):
Here the most interesting features are valleys ( by tectonic activity ).

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!