CICLOPS: Cassini Imaging Central Laboratory for OPerationS

Enceladus "Rev 121" Flyby Raw Preview #5
[For trouble viewing the images/movies on this page, go here]
Enceladus "Rev 121" Flyby Raw Preview #5
Avg Rating: 9.52/10

Full Size 1024x1024:
JPEG 163 KB
  This raw, unprocessed image of Enceladus was taken by Cassini on Nov. 21, 2009.

The image was taken in visible light with the Cassini spacecraft narrow-angle camera on Nov. 21, 2009. The view was acquired at a distance of approximately 2,000 kilometers (1000 miles) from Enceladus. Image scale is approximately 12 meters (41 feet) per pixel.

The Cassini Equinox Mission is a joint United States and European endeavor. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, manages the mission for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C. The Cassini orbiter was designed, developed and assembled at JPL. The imaging team consists of scientists from the US, England, France, and Germany. The imaging operations center and team lead (Dr. C. Porco) are based at the Space Science Institute in Boulder, Colo.

For more information about the Cassini Equinox Mission visit http://ciclops.org, http://www.nasa.gov/cassini and http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov.

Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute
Released: November 21, 2009
Image/Caption Information


Alliance Member Comments
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 22, 2009 at 11:46 PM):
( My rating was '12'.)
pizwiz (Nov 22, 2009 at 6:27 AM):
I find it curious that erosion-like patterns are only found on the sides facing the top of the image. The sides of the features facing the bottom of the page appear to be smooth.
Looks a bit like wind erosion with a very predominent wind coming from the top of the image.
stowaway (Nov 22, 2009 at 0:32 AM):
Ice Cream
Dragon_of_Luck_Mah_Jonng1971 (Nov 21, 2009 at 4:24 PM):
An icy surface with a lot of valleys. 12 mpp !
Amazingly there's a lot of details visible in the shadows, too. ( Because of the very bright surface and very high quality of this image, I suppose. )

( The valley at the lower right reminds me of a kind of Martian valleys of somewhat similar shapes, but if its dimensions are the same ones I don't know. )

Want to add a comment?   Login (for Alliance Members) ... or ... Join the CICLOPS Alliance!